Who will be the athlete of the year?

Voting has started to crown the king and queen of track for 2011.

Oct 12, 2011

The IAAF has announced the names of 20 athletes (10 men, 10 women) candidates for the World Athletes of the Year Award. The selection was made by a group of eight experts from the IAAF athletics. The vote, by members the IAAF Council and IAF, Federations of the IAAF, Committees and Commissions of the IAAF, IAAF Meeting of Directors, IAAF Ambassadors, Representatives of the IAAF athletes, top athletes, members of the international press and staff members IAAF will continue until midnight on Sunday, October 23. Following the collection of votes  three men and three women finalists will be selected. The Council of the International Athletic Foundation will select the athletes and winners will be announced on November 12th during the annual World Athletics Gala. The 10 male candidates are: Yohan Blake (Jamaica), Usain Bolt (Jamaica), Mo Farah (Great Britain), Robert Harting (Germany), Kirani James (Grenada), Patrick Makau (Kenya), Koji Murofushi (Japan), David Rudish (Kenya), Christian Taylor (USA), Jesse Williams (USA).
The 10 women candidates are: Mary Abakumov (Russia), Valerie Adams (New Zealand), Veronica Campbell Brown (Jamaica), Tatyana Chernova (Russia), Vivian Cheruiyot (Kenya), Anna Chicherova (Russia), Lashinda Demus (USA) Carmelita Jeter (USA), Amantle Montsho (Botswana), Sally Pearson (Australia).