The best athletes of the year

Renaud Lavillenie and Valerie Adams were named


The pole vaulter Renaud Lavillenie and shot putter Valerie Adams were named "athlete of the year." French that ousted Tsar Sergey Bubka and New Zealand undefeated for four years. Lavillenie beat marathoner Dennis Kimetto and altista Mutaz Barshim, while Adams had most of the middle-distance runner Genzebe Dibaba and sprinter Dafne Schippers. For the first time since the award was established (1988), both winners of the runners are not: even throwing and jumping you can leave your mark. Especially if you get results of prestige. The twenty-eight year old Lavillenie has established a new world record by jumping 6.16 in February in Donetsk, an inch better than the previous record of Bubka. During the season the transalpine won 21 of 22 races which he participated, winning the European title in Zurich, the ultimate success in the Diamond Race and the Continental Cup in Marrakech. "2014 could not get better, it was really a dream year. I can only enjoy this recognition and be grateful to the entire family of athletics, "said Renaud, adding:" I think that having set the record has contributed to winning the award, but there was also something else. I was not perfect as the Adams but I lost one game in the season, not bad in a specialty unpredictable as the pole vault. "

The thirty year old shot putter season has caught the world indoor title in Sopot and triumphed in the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. She was also the only athlete to win all seven stages of the Diamond League, bringing to 56 the winning streak. "This recognition - said Valerie - is the icing on the cake of my 2014. From the physical point of view it was a difficult year, but I am proud to have achieved these milestones representing New Zealand and Oceania."

In the evening of celebration at the Chapiteau de Fontvieille were also awarded the Lithuanian Virgilijus Alekna (Lifetime Achievement Award), French Wilhem Belocian and British Morgan Lake (rising stars) and the American Tom Tellez (best coach). They have also been included in the Hall of Fame athletes of the past twelve o'clock: Valeriy Brumel, Glenn Davis, Heike Drechsler, Hicham El Guerrouj, Marita Koch, Robert Korzeniowski, Janis Lusis, Bob Mathias, Wilma Rudolph, Shirley Strickland de la Hunty, Lasse Viren and Cornelius Warmerdam.

Finally, to report the decisions of the Council of the IAAF. The biggest was the assignment of Doha World Championships 2019. The capital of Qatar beat Eugene and Barcelona. In 2017 however the World Cup will be held in Nairobi students and those of cross-country race in Kampala. The Continental Cup 2018 will be hosted by Ostrava.

The Board has also determined that the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016 thirteen finals will take place in the morning, eight inside the stadium, at least one in each of the six sessions in the program, more running trials and marathons. Relay at the World Championships of 2015 will be replaced by the 4x1500 "medley relay", test with four fractions of 1200, 400, 800 and 1600 meters.