Memorial Van Damme

The 2014 edition of the IAAF Diamond League athletics concludes in Belgium


Friday, September 5th, Brussels will host the conclusion of the 2014 edition of the IAAF Diamond League. In the Belgian capital, on the occasion of the 38th edition of the Memorial Van Damme the last 16 winners of the Diamond Race trophy will be crowned, half of which will compete knowing that they had already won the title in the earlier stages of the Diamond League: Pascal Martinot-Lagarde in the 110 hurdles, Novlene Williams-Mills in the 400m, Jairus Birech in the 3000 steeplechase, Eunice Sum in the 800m, Renaud Lavillenie in the pole vault, Kaliese Spencer in the 400m hurdles, Caterine Ibarguen in the triple jump, Valerie Adams in the shot put.  For Lavillenie winning the Diamond Race is a record: the French athlete, in fact, won this trophy without interruption since its creation in 2010, a goal that no one else can match.

With regard to the disciplines in which the title has yet to be assigned, the challenge stands in the race the women's 200m between Allyson Felix and Blessing Okagbare: the two sprinters are separated by just two points in the standings for the Diamond Race Trophy, if successful. The challenge will be held on Mondotrack the King Baudouin Stadium.